Now that I have seen, I am responsible…

1 12 2007

Brooke Fraser = Amazing. A couple of my friends and I had the pleasure of going to see her play in Nashville on thursday night. That show was seriously one of the most amazing shows I have ever been to. I know, I know, everyone says that, but it really was. She played at 3rd and Lindsley, an incredibly small venue/bar downtown, and played a really broken down set with just her and a keyboardist. I can’t really describe how amazing it really was. She played most of the stuff off Albertine and a couple off the

 

 old record, but what caught me off guard more than anything was her authenticity and humility. I don’t know why it should…you can hear it in every word she sings, but its amazing how people who are real are so captivating. You should have seen the line waiting to talk to her after the show…it took us nearly 20 minutes to get to the front of the line and there were only a couple hundred people in the venue. She told us of Albertine, a little girl living in Rwanda that she met through WorldVision. Of the millions of people slaughtered during the genocide, Albertine was the only one that her WorldVision guide could save. What a huge display of love, to risk a live to save another! I am not sure if there was a dry eye in the place. Anyways, it really solidified in my heart what I think God has been saying for a long time…go. It’s one of those things that I can easily put off because I am too busy or don’t have the money, but God has called us to GO! He’s called us to fight for the defenseless, stand for the broken, feed the hungry, love the outcast…and everything that is in me just wants to drop everything and just GO sometimes. I found myself the other day wanting to audit a Mandarin class at Kennesaw, and I don’t know why other than, I want to feel close to the nations again. But in reality, I know that the God of China that we have seen move so powerfully is the same God of Cumming, just as powerful, just as huge, just as in love with His people and He calls us to reach out to them here as well. This obviously doesn’t cancel out the call to the nations, but definitely gives perspective to why I do what I do. Is it to create cool sets and flashy light shows that make people feel like they have just been to U2 or Keith Urban? Not really. We are called to create environments where walls are broken down and God can freely work in the hearts of the people He so desires. Do those two things look different? Yes and no. It just comes down to purpose and intention. If we keep our eyes on Jesus and on pointing people to Him, it becomes hard to create in spite of that, but always in light of that. I don’t know if that makes any sense, but sometimes you just want to be more… 

n38404809_33313616_9220.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

